Law Enforcement

image
Let’s cut the red tape and protective tethers
Away from the modern-day views that now prove
We have digressed from equality and respect

Excessive force hides behind bulletproof vests
Notwithstanding casualties within their own nests
Force sworn to serve and protect the community
Our peace officers no longer represent a unity
Revolting in desperate anguish from city-to-city
Countless loved ones die and all we can do is cry
Empathy and mercy is hard with justice uncharged
Memorials, a form of media’s art that bleeds dark
Emptying of conscience for the lives unfairly taken
Never to know future dreams stopped in the making
Tempered by the honorable few not forsaken

*Acrostic Poetry


This piece was written as part of collaborative effort, which was rejected for its aggression.  I respect that I’ll never really know what it’s like, as I am white.  However, I know the difference between wrong and right, so I choose to stand on the side of humanity.

As the saying goes, perception is reality, and this is simply a creative reflection on how I see things around me. It is not meant to fuel any hate or animosity. I see good and bad in everybody, especially our police.

 

3 responses to “Law Enforcement

I love to hear from you, so drop me a line here - Thanks!

