Discrimination

24 of 31 OctPoWriMo
image

Am I still man’s best friend

Yes, and I’ll continue to defend

Does my appearance frighten

Yes, but I promise to enlighten

What if I’m lost out on the streets

We’ll take you in and let you eat

When the abuse stops, what will I do

Find someone worthy to look after you

Why am I cold, lonely and want to hide

I’m sorry our society has been misguided

 

In a a statement issued in 2013, President Obama said “[w]e don’t support breed-specific legislation—research shows that bans on certain types of dogs are largely ineffective and often a waste of public resources. And the simple fact is that dogs of any breed can become dangerous when they’re intentionally or unintentionally raised to be aggressive.”

7 responses to “Discrimination

  1. Completely agree. We are huge dog lovers and have come across so many pit bulls (and other “aggressive” breeds). Some are the sweetest animals you could ever hope to come across and play perfectly with my Jack Russel causing no anxiety for me whatsoever, where others are the meanest dogs, causing me to watch their interactions in fear, worrying that my dog will get attacked. It all comes back to the owner. How they trained their dog, how they socialized their dog, how they treat their dog, etc. It makes me really sad and angry that a) dog owners are not responsible enough to properly train and treat their dogs humanely and b) that these dogs are always the ones at fault.

    Wonderful message and poem! 🙂

    Like

    • Christina, Thank you for the thoughtful and supportive words. I’m glad you agree, and it is the owners responsibility. Sadly, many people that have no business owning these types of pets have them and don’t take on the role they need to and safeguard against problems. Thanks again, Kelly 🙂

      Like

I love to hear from you, so drop me a line here - Thanks!

