Terrific Community

T is for… Terrific Community

I never shut down fully; my mind is constantly on the go, so sitting down to write fiction or a rhyme provides a much-needed escape from reality. Having said that I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the blogging community for embracing my words and me since day one. When I started this blog as a 2014 New Year’s resolution I didn’t know what to expect other than a place to house my words on the World Wide Web. I never imagined that I would become part of something larger than me, and I now have a world of respect for the bloggers that I like to call my virtual family, and their unique craft. If I’m following you it’s intentional because I don’t follow for the sake of following or with the hope of increasing my own readership. Although, I will say I am a numbers whore – I love to see them inflate, and I suspect that will never change. But I digress. As I was saying, I follow you because I look forward to stealing a few moments of time here-and-there in my busy work/life schedule to scroll through my reader and catch your awesome posts! The work you share servers to motivate me in my own writings. Your readership gives me a sense of purpose. Your likes exhilarate me, and your comments provide encouragement, validation and at times criticism, which is exactly the antidote I need to keep pushing forward and improve. This is a terrific community and I’m grateful to be a part of it. I look forward to building new friendships – virtual hugs to each of you.

Sincerely,

Kelly

14 responses to “Terrific Community

  1. Virtual hugs… I can relate, I started my blog on a whim after a few friends I shared rhymes with suggested I enter a contest. It was small and I won, so I kept rambling on with the blog. After just over two years, I am still surprised and humbled that anyone would want to read what I write. That being said, I have found so many writers to enjoy, such a varied talent, that I look forward each day to seeing what happened while I slept. Keep writing, you never know what word you send might inspire someone else.

    Like

  2. I felt the same way as you when I started out. I was not sure what to expect; I just wanted a place for the never-ending words in my head! Thanks to my virtual friends, I have been able to discover a part of myself that I never knew existed. And I know what you mean about being a numbers whore! At times when I write something really meaningful to me (like “Hidden Hunger” on Wednesday), and I get little in the way of feedback or stats, I feel deflated.

    I always look forward to your posts, Kelly! 🙂

    Like

  3. 🙂 That was my experience too when I started blogging. If I’m quiet for long periods it’s because my offline life gets overly hectic; but the community here is indeed awesome.

    Like

    • Indeed and it’s so comforting to share with like minded/spirited people. 🙂 I’ve noticed now that it’s starting to warm up I’m struggling even more find the time to write.

      Like

I love to hear from you, so drop me a line here - Thanks!

