Motivation: Armed and Ready

M is for… Motivation

image

I read “My ‘I Need an Editor’ Rant,” earlier by a blogger that I admire and if you haven’t encountered his page yet you best head on over to visit Mr. Hemmingplay for words of wisdom, laughs, poetry, and great story bits. Any hoot, his post motivated me to put my lazy ass in-gear and want to do better when it comes to my own writing, so I dug out and dusted off some of the essential resources that I sorely need to get reacquainted with. In the professional world, especially in technology and development arena’s there is a tendency to blatantly ignore grammar and parts of speech, and I’ve succumbed to this bad behavior with the worst of them. Therefore, it’s time to go back to the basics and start listening to that inner critic that I loathed so much in the past that I once slit his throat.  Hopefully, this time we can play nice together and if it doesn’t work out; I’ll dip my dagger in leopard’s bane and plunge it into his back, and then find an affordable editor.

What writing references have you found to be helpful and keep nearby?

6 responses to “Motivation: Armed and Ready

  1. Strunk and White…and King. They all peek over my shoulder. I probably don’t check in with them often enough, but they are there like good friends should be, ready to save my bacon when I need them : ) Happy A to Z’ing : )

    Like

I love to hear from you, so drop me a line here - Thanks!

